Let me just set it straight, we are NOT good people! We have no reason to be proud of our good works, money, fame, possessions, etc. Any good thing we have or have done is because of our Savior Jesus!

Galatians 6:14 But as for me, I will never boast about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. The world has been crucified to me through the cross, and I to the world. 

Here Paul is showing us that we have no reason to boast, except that Jesus died and rose again, saving us from our sin and eternal separation from God! The same message is seen in Jeremiah:

Jeremiah 9:23-24 Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, [24] but let him who boasts, boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight,” declares the LORD.

We see here that, yes, you may be wise, rich, or mighty, but that it is not of your own doing. God has gifted you with these things on earth. He trusts us to use them wisely!

We also cannot boast about our salvation. Good works do NOT save us! It through our faith in Him alone that we are saved by grace. We do not deserve the salvation given to us!

Ephesians 2:8-9 For you are saved by grace through faith, and this is not from yourselves; it is God’s gift–[9] not from works, so that no one can boast.

Let us live like this today!

