Psalm 22:1  My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?

‭‭This Psalm foreshadows the words of Jesus on the cross in Matthew 27:46: And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

‭‭Now the question is….did God really turn His face away from Jesus? I believe the answer is no. I believe Jesus was referring to feeling of having the sins of the world on His shoulders! Jesus had never sinned, and had never experienced a broken relationship with the Father. That’s just it, the sin caused a relationship that felt broken, it didn’t end the relationship. Much like a parent and child on Earth, a child’s parent doesn’t leave when a child misbehaves. However, there is tension in the relationship! God can look upon sin; He loves us and saves us while we are still sinners! I’m thankful that we don’t have to figure it all out! Jesus already has! 

